Eileen Basker Memorial Prize 2020 Deadline Extended to June 1

Eileen Basker Memorial Prize

IMPORTANT UPDATE: 2020’s deadline is extended to June 1 due to COVID-19

The Society for Medical Anthropology welcomes nominations for the Eileen Basker Memorial Prize, awarded annually for a significant contribution to anthropological scholarship on gender and health by a scholar (or scholars) from any discipline or nation for a specific book, article, film, or exceptional PhD thesis produced within the preceding three years. The Prize is awarded to the work judged to be the most courageous, significant, and potentially influential contribution to this area of scholarship. Winners receive a $1000 cash award and are recognized at the SMA Awards Ceremony during the AAA Annual Meeting.

Nominations are invited from one or more individuals in the form of a letter indicating the impact of the designated work on the field. Self-nomination is not permitted. Publishers of nominated books are expected to supply three copies of the relevant work to the Prize Committee.

The deadline for receipt of materials is June 1st.

Inquiries should be sent to the chair of the Basker Prize Committee, Erica Prussing at erica-prussing@uiowa.edu.  Please contact her before forwarding copies of books or dissertations (print copies required) so that she may provide mailing addresses for all committee members.  All materials must be received by the June 1st deadline.