New Millennium Book Award

Deadline: July 1

Awarded in Odd Numbered Years

The New Millennium Book Award was established by the Society for Medical Anthropology to recognize and promote excellence in medical anthropology, broadly defined. The New Millennium Book Award is currently awarded biannually (in odd years) to a scholar within the field of medical anthropology for a solo-authored (or co-authored) book published since the beginning of the new millennium. Books published/copyrighted within three years of the biannual selection process will be considered for the award.

The New Millennium Book Award will be given to the author whose work is judged to be the most significant and potentially influential contribution to medical anthropology. Books of exceptional courage and potential impact beyond the field will be given special consideration.

The New Millennium Book Award is designed to complement the Eileen Basker Prize and the Council for the Anthropology of Reproduction (CAR) book awards in the area of gender and health. Thus, books on gender and health topics will not be considered eligible for the New Millennium Book Award.

The Award will be publicly announced during the SMA awards ceremony, held during the annual AAA meetings. The winner will receive a $500 cash award. Books that did not receive the award but are considered exceptional will receive honorable mentions at the award ceremony.

To nominate a book, please send a signed letter of nomination to the chairs of the selection committee. Only individuals, not organizations or publishers, are eligible to nominate books for the New Millennium Award. The letter of nomination should speak to the impact of the book on the field of medical anthropology. Self-nomination is not permitted, and works submitted without an accompanying letter of nomination cannot be considered.

In addition to the letter, please arrange to have the publisher send a copy of the book directly to each member of the Selection Committee. Contact the Committee Chair Carolyn Smith-Morris to obtain addresses of committee members. Books must be received by the deadline of July 1 2021.