SMA Travel Initiative 2024

We are excited to share a new pilot 2024 initiative to support underrepresented US-based and international anthropologists. We have allocated special funding for the2024 American Anthropological Association Conference to financially support medical anthropologists outside academia, contingent faculty, and historically underrepresented anthropologists who wish to attend in person. We also encourage non-US-based anthropologists to apply, especially those living and working in low and middle-income countries. 

The SMA can cover all or some of the following expenditures, depending on availability of funds: 

– Cost-effective travel to and from Tampa (e.g., plane, train, car)

– Local travel (i.e., taxi, rideshare)

– Lodging (e.g., hotel, Airbnb) 

– Pier diem rate for meals 

– Conference fees and registration 

– Some travelers will need a visa to travel to the USA. Please look at the US Government’s official website for all information about if you need a visa, what type of visa you need, and how to obtain it, according to your specific circumstances. Funding is available to cover the costs of applying for a visa through your local embassy.  Please note these expenses in your proposed budget.

Please note that selected travel recipients will receive their funds upfront and will not need to wait for reimbursement. They will also be encouraged to attend pre-AAA mentoring sessions virtually in August and in-person mentoring opportunities in Tampa. 

Application Process

Please review the options available for individuals wishing to participate in the 2024 Annual Meeting program. Funding for this initiative is limited to in-person panels, roundtables, conversations/debates, or individual flash presentations. The submission must indicate that the SMA will be the primary reviewing section. Please complete the following Google form by May 1, 2024, after submitting your panel (or individual presentation) or once the organizer submits your panel. 

Application form:

We will start announcing selected recipients by June 1, 2024. To receive your award, we must receive confirmation of in-person attendance at the AAA meetings by August 1, 2024.   

– Chelsey R. Carter, Narelle Warren, and Will Lucas