SMA Celebrates 30 years of the Eileen Basker Memorial Prize

Virginia Domínguez and the Society of Medical Anthropology founded the Eileen Basker Memorial Prize in 1987 in honor of Eileen Basker’s legacy of promoting feminist anthropology within medical anthropology. SMA held a special event this year at the American Anthropological Association meeting in San José, CA to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Eileen Basker Memorial Prize and its prestigious recipients.

The following film, which was produced by Naiara Appaix-Castro and shown at the celebration, includes past recipients discussing the significance of the award to them as scholars and to the field of medical anthropology. As Adele Clarke reminds us, “we have come a long way, and while we still have a long way to go, the Basker prize helps keep us going.”