# Society for Medical Anthropology Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony: Agenda November 22, 2019, 8:00-11:00 PM

#### Vancouver, Canada

- 1. Welcome: Arachu Castro, SMA President
- 2. Medical Anthropology Quarterly: Vincanne Adams, Editor
  - MAQ is in good health
  - The time required for reviews has decreased
  - The impact factor has also dropped. Editor Adams does not see this as particularly significant. It has not affected the journal's income stream.
  - There are personnel changes at MAQ: Daisy Deomampo has replaced Alex Nading as Book review editor; Amber Benezra will be coming in as MAQ Digital Editor; and Melina Salvador has replaced Nadia Graber as Editorial Assistant.
  - Editor Adams emphasized the need to ask students to download articles rather than providing PDFs, in order to give authors credit for downloads and maintain the income stream for the journal.
- 3. Treasurer's Report: Jessica Mulligan, Treasurer
  - Overview of the finances. The full report is available on the website.
  - Upshot of SMA fiscal health: excellent, with around \$300,000 in total net assets. Nevertheless, a great deal of revenue comes from one source Wiley, meaning income from journal, in addition to SMA dues
  - Short-term challenges include expense for international meeting in Cuba and other needs; changing AAA tiered dues structure and their potential impact on SMA
  - Outline of projected expenditures for 2020
- 3. Membership and Mentorship Committee: Matthew Wolf-Meyer, Committee Chair
  - Wolf-Meyer offered special recognition to (1) Sustaining and Life Members; (2) New Members
  - Membership is relatively stable
  - Discussed efforts to provide graduate students with mentorship, including plans for a professionalization session at the SMA/SfAA Meeting in Spring 2020; possibilities for enabling students to request a particular mentor and to link faculty and students on the basis of common interests in the field
  - Sub-report: MASA Carolyne Egesa, MASA Representative and Student Board Member: she reported a healthy number of student members and good student participation in MASA, including an increase in non-US student members; Egresa encouraged students to submit their work to the blog.
- 4. Communications Committee: Eugene Raikhel, Chair
  - Saira Mehmood, thanked for her service, is stepping down as SMA Digital Communications Manager

- A key concern is the discontinuation of the SMA Listserv by the AAA and the transition
  to the Communities platform; one problem is that only members who are up-to-date on
  dues receive Communities messages, severing contact with members experiencing
  economic precarity and excluding a significant number of SIG members.
- The importance of posting syllabi for medical anthropology courses on the website again discussed, partly in vierw of their potential use in creating medical anthropology courses and programs in places (including beyond the US) in which they are currently absent

#### 5. **SMA/AAA Program Committee:** Elise Andaya, committee member

- Committee Chair Nolwazi Mkwanazi could not attend the AA meeting due to a visa issue
- Andaya thanked Committee members for their efforts
- Beyond discussing the number of proposals submitted and sessions sponsored, listed sessions co-sponsored with other sections

#### 6. SMA/SfAA 2020 Spring Meeting Program Committee: Elise Andaya, Chair

- Andaya announced plans for the SMA/SfAA 2020 Spring Meeting in Albuquerque, NM
- Outlined the number of submissions and plans for the meeting

# 7. SMA Spring Meeting Program Committee for Havana meeting: Arachu Castro, Chair

- The meeting is scheduled for 9-12 March 2020 in Habana, Cuba
- SMA will not incur financial risk and is not responsibility for contracting space in the Havana Convention Center as SMA sessions will form part of Anthropology Havana 2020
- SMA will pay for translations services and provide some travel scholarships
- Over 200 papers submitted from many countries; simultaneous sessions will be required during some time slots
- Castro outlined the three themes: 1) social determination of health from social medicine, critical epidemiology, and critical medical anthropology perspective, 2) sexual and reproductive health and rights, and 3) indigenous movements and intercultural care in health.

#### 8. Special Interest Groups (SIG): Junko Kitanaka, SIG Liaison

- Kitanaka invited the SIG chairs (see list below) onto the stage and asked them to introduce themselves and their SIG
- SIG chairs presented awards and prizes
- A list of SIGs and chairs is appended

#### 9. SMA Board Awards: Arachu Castro, replacing Nolwazi Mkhwanazi

- Castro introduced the chair of each award and prize committee, who thanked committee
  members, described the prize or award; they introduced awardees and listed their
  contributions
- A list of committees and members is appended

# 10. Nominations Committee: Elise Andaya, Chair

• Andaya introduced and thanked the members of the Nominations Committee

- She noted that the Committee was paying special attention to recruiting nominees from underrepresented groups, practicing scholars and faculty members at teaching-heavy institutions in order to present a diverse set of candidates
- Andaya thanked outgoing Board members: Clara Han, Secretary, and Board members
  Carolyne Egesa (MASA Representative and Student Board Member), Junko Kitanaka,
  Andrea Wittaker
- Andaya introduced the new Secretary, Adia Benton, and new At-Large Board Members Danya Glabau, Richard Powis (MASA Representative and Student Board Member), and Rosalynn A. Vega
- 11. New Business: Arachu Castro, SMA President
- 12. **Serenade**: Bryan Page
- 13. President's Brief Closing Statement: Arachu Castro

#### 14. Passing of the Gavel

#### **Special Interest Groups and Chairs**

AIDS and Anthropology Research Group (AARG)

Alcohol, Drugs, and Tobacco Study Group (ADTSG)

Corliss Heath

Shana Harris

Anthropology and Mental Health Interest Group (AMHIG) Michael R. Duke, Beatriz M. Reyes-

Foster

Anthropological Response to Health Emergencies Group

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) and

Integrative Medicine (IM) Group Council on Anthropology and Reproduction (CAR)

Critical Anthropology of Global Health (CAGH)

Disability Research Interest Group (DRI)

Dying and Bereavement Special Interest Group (DABIG)

Medical Anthropology Student Association (MASA)

Research on U.S. Health and Healthcare (RUSH)  $\,$ 

Eiik

Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) Interest Group Jacklyn Grace Lacey, Janelle Lamoreaux

Kristin Hedges

Laura Meek, Jane L. Saffitz Vanessa M. Hildebrand Amy Dao, Nora Kenworthy

Tyler Zoanni Margaret Souza

Carolyne Egesa

Rachel Carmen Ceasar, Marieke S. van

# **SMA Board Awards and Prizes and Committees**

HAZEL WEIDMAN AWARD FOR EXEMPLARY SERVICE TO THE SMA

Arachu Castro (chair), Craig Janes, Lenore Manderson. Mark Nichter, Carolyn Sargent

GEORGE FOSTER PRACTICING MEDICAL ANTHROPOLOGY AWARD

Andrea Whittaker (co-chair), Mimi Nichter, Narelle Warren

MASA MENTORSHIP AWARD – Carolyne Egesa (chair)

Kayla Hurd, Shantha Karthigesu, Peter Lee

EILEEN BASKER MEMORIAL PRIZE

Andrea Whittaker (co-chair), Virginia Domínguez (co-chair), Robert Wyrod NEW MILLENNIUM BOOK AWARD

Junko Kitanaka (chair), Charles Briggs, P. Sean Brotherton, Clara Mantini-Briggs, Harris Solomon

# STEVEN POLGAR PROFESSIONAL PAPER PRIZE

Eugene Raikhel (chair), Andrew McDowell, Narelle Warren.

# W. H. R. RIVERS UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT PAPER PRIZE

Erica Prussing (chair), Adia Benton, Megan Carney, Jenna Grant, Sarah Horton, Carrie Hough,

Theodore Powers.

# SMA DISSERTATION AWARD

Jessica Mulligan (chair), Emily Brunson, Kenneth T. MacLeish.

# CONTINGENT FACULTY TRAVEL AWARD

Clara Han (chair)

#### STUDENT TRAVEL AWARDS

Jessica Mulligan (chair), Carolyne Egesa, Linda Musariri