Society for Medical Anthropology

MINUTES: Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony (followed by community reception)

Friday, November 18, 2016, 7:45-9:00 PM; Minneapolis Hilton, Salon A

- 1. Welcome Elisa (EJ) Sobo
- 2. Consideration of **Minutes** (made available to members via SMA's Website at least 21 days in advance of this meeting, as per SMA's by-laws) Janelle Taylor
- 3. Consideration of **Treasurer's Report** (made available to members via SMA's Website at least 21 days in advance of this meeting, as per SMA's by-laws) Alexander Rödlach
- 4. **Membership** Committee news Juan Luque
 - **♦** Special Recognition: Sustaining and Life Members (please see below)
 - **≰** Special Recognition: *New Members*
- 5. **Communications** news Megan Carney
 - ★ Second Opinion Hello Saira Mehmood Thank you and Bon Voyage Liz Lewis
 - ★ Website Sean Bruna
- 6. **Medical Anthropology Quarterly** update— Clarence (Lance) Gravlee
 - **★** Changes for 2017: Welcome *Vincanne Adams*
- 7. **Program Committee** news Athena McClean (on behalf of Mary Anglin)
- 8. **Special Interest Group** (SIG) news Catie Willging

 - **★** Conga Line (aka *March of the SIGs*)

AIDS and Anthropology Research Group (AARG)	Charlotte Noble, Adriana Garriga-López
Alcohol, Drugs, and Tobacco Study Group	Shana Harris
Anth. and Mental Health Interest Group (AMHIG)	Michael R. Duke, Shir Lerman
Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) and Integrative Medicine (IM) Group	Emery Eaves
Council on Anthropology and Reproduction (CAR)	Jan Brunson
Critical Anthropology of Global Health (CAGH)	Sara Lewis, Peter Brown
Disability Research Interest Group (DRI)	Cassandra Hartblay, Heather Thomas, Elizabeth Lewis, Molly Bloom
Dying and Bereavement Special Interest Group	Margaret Souza
Medical Anthropology Student Association (MASA)	Jonathan Stillo
Science, Technology and Medicine Interest Group	Nayantara Sheoran
Science & Medicine in South Asia (SMSA)	Bharat Venkat
Zika TIG	Kirstin Hedges, Laurie Denyer-Willis

- 9. **Board Awards** [winners names are to be posted on SMA's Website and featured in Second Opinion early in the new year]
 - a. SMA Student Travel awards Alexander Roedlach (chair), Allison Kabel
 - b. MASA Mentorship Award Jon Stillo (chair), Zakea Boerger, Carolyne Egesa, Peter Lee
 - c. Charles Hughes Graduate Student Paper Prize Lesley Sharp (chair), Guy Shalev, Sara Lewis, Amy Moran-Thomas
 - d. Steve Polgar Prize Lesley Sharp (chair), Lynn Morgan, Michael Montoya
 - e. Eileen Basker Memorial Prize J.Taylor (chair), Virginia Dominguez, Michele Rivkin-Fish
 - f. Career Achievement Award- James Pfeifer (chair), Mark Nichter, Athena McLean
- 10. **Election/nominations** news Eileen Moyer
 - **♦** Without members stepping forward to serve, SMA would grind to a halt.

- Results: Welcome Arachu Castro (President Elect), Clara Han (Secretary), and board members Carlyn Egesa, Junko Kitanaka, and Andrea Whittaker
- 11. **New Business?** [none was announced]
- 12. Serenade Bryan Page
 - ★ Thank you for your service, outgoing board members: Officers Linda Garro, Janelle Taylor, Board members: Athena McLean, James Pfeiffer, Jonathan Stillo
- 13. President's **Closing Statement**
 - ★ Thank you for your service Dr. Page [surprise presentation of plaque commemorating "20 Years of Service in Song"
 - Invitation to 'build community' starting with the reception.
- 14. Adjournment

APPENDICES

1. **SUSTAINING MEMBERS** – Thank you for your continued support and dedication!

Maria Lourdes Alcantara Judith Farguhar Marsha Michie Rupert Poeschl David A. Feingold Michael Nathan Simon Craddock Lee Pamela Feldman-Savelsberg Biarke Oxlund Ruthbeth Finerman Maria-Keiko Yasuoka John B Page Betsv Pohlman Christian S Adonizio Carol S Goldin A.P. Hardon Sarah Raskin Grace Lloyd Bascope Karen E Beckwitt Alan Harwood Eric Ratliff Maria Berghs Warren M Hern Michele Rivkin-Fish Aditya Bharadwaj Barbara Herr Harthorn Barbara Rylko-Bauer Christine Borden-King-Jones Alan F Schultz Marcia C Inhorn Peter J Brown Caroline O Jones Lesley A Sharp Sharon G Bruce Laurence J Kirmayer Merrill C Singer Mara H Buchbinder Peter Kunstadter Carolyn M Smith-Morris Arachu Castro Lvnn Kwiatkowski Amy Speier Ann M Cheney Sandra D Lane Nicole L. Taylor Noel J Chrisman Betty Wolder Levin Julie Thomas Karen L Davis John S Luque Alayne Unterberger Catalina A. Denman Lenore H Manderson L Lewis Wall Elizabeth D Whitaker William W Dressler Spero M Manson Sheryl McCurdy Michael C Ennis-McMillan Linda M Whiteford Janet W McGrath Pamela I Erickson Cathleen E Willging

2. **SMA COMMITTEES** - Thank you for your service!

Standing Committees

Policy - James Pfeiffer (chair), Cathleen Willging, Tazin Karim, Mark Nichter

AAA Program - Mary Anglin (chair) Cathleen Wilging, Athena McLean, Elizabeth New, Olivia Spradlin SfAA Program - Juan Luque and Sean Bruna (co-chairs)

Membership - Juan Luque (chair), Zakea Boeger, Alex Roedlach, Lesley Jo Weaver, Catie Willging Nominations - Eileen Moyer (chair), Athena Maclean, Lesley Sharp, Lenore Manderson, Eugene Raikhel. Communications - Erin Finley and Megan Carney (co-chairs), Sean Bruna, Liz Lewis Ad hoc Committees

MAQ-SMA Website Redesign Committee - Liz Lewis, Sean Bruna, Vincanne Adams, Erin Finley MAQ Editor Search Committee - Janelle Taylor (chair), Mara Buchbinder, Clarence Gravlee, Mark Luborsky, Andrea Sankar, Lesley Sharp, Claire Wendland.

Future of Publishing Committee - Linda Garro (chair), Tanja Ahlin, Roberta Baer, Sean Bruna, Pamela Erickson, Clarence C. Gravlee, Doug Henry, Tazin Karim, Daniel Lende, Holly Mathews, Alexander Rödlach, Andrea Sankar, Elisa Sobo, Janelle Taylor