Call for Nominations: New Millennium Book Award for 2015

New Millennium Book Award, 2015


The New Millennium Book Award was established by the Society for Medical Anthropology to recognize and promote excellence in medical anthropology, broadly defined. The New Millennium Book Award is currently awarded biannually to a scholar within the field of medical anthropology for a solo-authored (or co-authored) book published since the beginning of the new millennium. In the 2015 competition, books published/copyrighted between 2012-2015 will be considered for the award.

The New Millennium Book Award will be given to the author whose work is judged to be the most significant and potentially influential contribution to medical anthropology. Books of exceptional courage and potential impact beyond the field will be given special consideration.

The New Millennium Book Award is designed to complement the Eileen Basker Prize and the Council for the Anthropology of Reproduction (CAR) book awards in the area of gender and health. Thus, books on gender and health topics will not be considered eligible for the New Millennium Book Award.

The Award will be publicly announced during the SMA awards ceremony, held during the annual AAA meetings. The winner will receive a $500 cash award and a plaque. Books that did not receive the award but are considered exceptional will receive honorable mentions at the award ceremony.


To nominate a book, please send a signed letter of nomination to the co-chairs of the selection committee, Dr. Lesley Sharp, at and Dr. Athena McLean at

Only individuals, not organizations or publishers, are eligible to nominate books for the New Millennium Award. The letter of nomination should speak to the impact of the book on the field of medical anthropology. Self-nomination is not permitted, and works submitted without an accompanying letter of nomination cannot be considered.

In addition to the letter, please arrange to have the publisher send a copy of the book directly to each member of the Selection Committee. Contact the co-chairs of the committee, Dr. Lesley Sharp, at and Dr. Athena McLean at to obtain addresses of committee members. Books must be received by the deadline of July 10.