Call for Nominations: 2015 Eileen Basker Memorial Prize

Deadline: July 1

The Society for Medical Anthropology welcomes nominations for the
Eileen Basker Memorial Prize, awarded annually for a significant
contribution to anthropological scholarship on gender and health by a
scholar (or scholars) from any discipline or nation for a specific book,
article, film, or exceptional PhD thesis produced within the preceding three
years. The Prize is awarded to the work judged to be the most
courageous, significant, and potentially influential contribution to this area of scholarship. Winners receive a $1000 cash award and are recognized
at the SMA business meeting during the AAA.

The Prize was founded by Virginia R. Dominguez in collaboration with the
Society for Medical Anthropology in 1987 following the death of
Israeli-American critical medical anthropologist and feminist, Eileen Basker, in October 1986.

Nominations are invited from one or more individuals in the form of a letter
indicating the impact of the designated work on the field. Self-nomination
is not permitted. Publishers of nominated books are expected to supply
three copies of the relevant work to the Prize Committee.

The deadline for receipt of materials is July 1.

Inquiries and nomination materials should be sent to the chair of the Basker Prize Committee:

Janelle S. Taylor —
Department of Anthropology
University of Washington
Box 353100
Seattle, WA 98195-3100